The Viceregal Lion
  1. The Governor General of Canada
  2. Her Excellency the Right Honourable Julie Payette
  • Print Preview
  • Print: 
  •  Send to Facebook (Opens in a new window)
  •  Send to Twitter (Opens in a new window)
  • Send to E-mail (Opens in a new window)
  • Share: 

Rideau Hall Investiture Ceremony – February 12, 2016

On February 12, 2016, Governor General David Johnston invested 47 recipients into the Order of Canada at a ceremony at Rideau Hall in Ottawa.

The range of talents and disciplines recognized at the ceremony and the level of achievement of the new members was truly impressive.

In the evening all were honoured by the Governor General and Mrs. Johnston at a formal dinner. During the meal, a standing ovation was held for Mark Boucher who was retiring after 35 years of service at Rideau Hall. He worked tirelessly under seven viceregal mandates, beginning with the Right Honourable Edward Schreyer, to make events such as the Order of Canada dinner a reality.

Following the dinner, Don Tapscott, C.M., took requests on the piano and led a singalong that made for a memorable and enjoyable end to the evening.

Group photo taken prior to the formal dinner held in honour of the newly invested recipients of the Order of Canada.

Front Row: Madeline Dion Stout, C.M.; Michèle Fortin, C.M.; Helen Vari C.M.; A. Gordon Craig, C.M.; Barbara Kristina Schmidt, C.M.; Robert Keith Rae, P.C., C.C., O.Ont.; His Excellency the Right Honourable David Johnston, C.C.; Her Excellency Sharon Johnston, C.C.; Vivian Morris Rakoff, C.M.; Rollande Desbois, C.M., C.Q.; Jean-Marc Lalonde, C.M.; Linda F. Nazar, O.C.; Ted Grant, C.M.; Magella Gros-Louis, O.C., O.Q.;

Second Row: Judy Loman, C.M.; Ida Albo, C.M.; Julio Montaner, O.C., O.B.C.; James K. Gordon, C.M.; Denis Brott, C.M.; Garry Rempel, C.M.; François Schubert, C.M.; Sandra Irving, C.M.; Aubie Angel, C.M.; P. Kim Sturgess, C.M.; The Honourable Louise Otis, O.C., O.Q.; Ervin Podgorsak, C.M.; Mary Gospodarowicz Evans, O.C.; Major Tetsuo Theodore Itani, C.M., O.M.M., C.D.; James F. Dinning, C.M.; John Grew, C.M.; Leah Hollins, C.M.

Third Row: Donald John Taylor, O.C.; Norman Emilio Marcon, O.C.; Don Tapscott, C.M.; Carolyn Hansson, C.M.; Frank Hasenfratz, C.M.; John Morden, C.M.; Pierre Bergeron, C.M.; Christina Stuart Cameron, C.M.; Lorraine Vaillancourt, C.M.; John G. McAvity, C.M.; Mary Rozsa de Coquet, C.M.; Thomas Jon Harle, C.M., C.D.; Martin Chernin, C.M.; Lynn McDonald, C.M.; Sandra Scarth, C.M.; Martin Yaffe, C.M.