The Viceregal Lion
  1. The Governor General of Canada
  2. Her Excellency the Right Honourable Julie Payette
  • Print Preview
  • Print: 
  •  Send to Facebook (Opens in a new window)
  •  Send to Twitter (Opens in a new window)
  • Send to E-mail (Opens in a new window)
  • Share: 

Rideau Hall Investiture Ceremony – November 18, 2015

On November 18, 2015, Governor General David Johnston invested 45 recipients into the Order of Canada at a ceremony at Rideau Hall in Ottawa.

Among them were individuals from across the country, from various disciplines ranging from an astronaut to a trumpeter and to community, business and philanthropic leaders.

That evening, newly invested recipients were invited to a formal dinner held in their honour. After enjoying each other’s company over dinner, guests were treated to an impromptu performance featuring the musical talents of baritone Gerald Finley, O.C, and trumpet virtuoso Jens Lindemann, C.M. They were joined by Blue Rodeo founders Jim Cuddy, O.C. and Greg Keelor, O.C., who engaged the room in a singalong of a few of their classic hit songs. The night was capped off when Colonel Chris Hadfield, O.C., O.Ont., M.S.C., C.D. (Ret'd) stepped forward to form a quartet for the final number.

This made for a memorable and enjoyable evening that filled the rooms of Rideau Hall with music, laughter and an even greater appreciation for the breadth of talent amongst Order of Canada members.

Group photo taken prior to the formal dinner held in honour of the newly invested recipients of the Order of Canada.

Front Row: Fiona Nelson, C.M. ; Arthur Alexander Kube, C.M. ; Mel Hoppenheim, C.M.; Wendy Levinson, O.C. ; Josiane Boulad-Ayoub, C.M. ; His Excellency the Right Honourable David Johnston, C.C. ; Her Excellency Sharon Johnston, C.C.; Daniel Bertolino, C.M. ; Kenneth MacClure Baird, C.M. ; H. Bruce Williams, C.M. ; Iris Collins (for Barbara Turnbull, C.M.) ; Marcia “Kappy” Flanders, C.M., M.S.M. ; Catherine Frazee, O.C.

Second Row: Keith MacLellan, C.M. ; Judson Graham Day, O.C., O.N.S., C.D. ; Mark Carney, O.C. ; Colonel Chris Austin Hadfield, O.C., O.Ont., M.S.C., C.D. (Ret’d) ; Morley Torgov, C.M. ; The Honourable Allen Linden, O.C. ; Monique Jérôme-Forget, C.M., O.Q. ; Michael DeGagné, C.M., O.Ont. ; Charles E. Pascal, C.M. ; Donna Soble Kaufman, C.M. ; Patrick Johnston, C.M. ; Brenda Louise Gallie, C.M., O.Ont. ; Jagannath Prasad Das, C.M. ; Edgar J. Dosman, C.M

Third Row: Cal Nichols, C.M. ; Gerald Hunter Finley, O.C. ; H. Olav Slaymaker, C.M. ; James Gordon Cuddy, O.C. ; James Gregory Keelor, O.C. ; Grégoire Legendre, C.M. ; Hubert Sacy, C.M., C.Q. ; Thomas J. Marrie, C.M. ; Christophe Guy, C.M., O.Q. ; The Honourable Michael A. Meighen, C.M. ; V. Prem Watsa, C.M. ; James Rodger Miller, O.C., S.O.M. ; The Honourable Jacob Austin, P.C., C.M., O.B.C.

Fourth (Back) Row: Guy Gavriel Kay, C.M. ; Harvey Max Chochinov, O.C., O.M. ; Mark Lautens, O.C. ; Jens Lindemann, C.M. ; George Baran ( for Mitchell A. Baran, C.M.)